The Nebraska Herpetological Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the conservation of amphibians and reptiles, the encouragement of responsible captive propagation, and the promotion of public education and understanding of reptiles and amphibians.

Why Should You Join?

As a member you can become a part of this friendly and active group! The NHS publishes a quarterly newsletter that is sent out to all members. All of our meetings and activities are family oriented and kids are welcomed.

Normally, our meetings are held on the first Saturday of each month at 10:00 AM. The room is located on the 3rd floor of Allwine Hall on the UNO campus (the room number is posted on the entrance doors). Occasionally, the meeting dates will change if there is a holiday or an important event is scheduled. Please refer to the Meeting Information page for all the details. Our meetings are open to anyone that has an interest in reptiles and amphibians! You do not have to be a member to participate in NHS events.

How Do You Join?

Annual membership dues are:
  • $5 Individual
  • $10 Family
  • $20 Contributing
Please download the membership application:

NHS Grants Available

The Nebraska Herpetological Society is pleased to offer an annual grant program to provide financial support to herpetological research, studies, and conservation projects. Please email your application to: Dennis Ferraro ( or Dan Fogell ( Deadline for application is March 1.

Download Grant Application (.doc)

2017 Meeting Schedule and Speakers

Click on the Meeting Information page for all the details!

Date Speaker Topic
January 7 Ariel White Bioactive Substrate: How to Make It and What It's Used For
February 4 Alex Wiles International Herping
March 4 Terry Gampper Toad Toxins and Frog First Aid
April 1 James Duffy Care of Horned Frogs (Ceratophrys ssp.) in Captivity
May Dan Fogell No meeting due to annual field trip
June ## TBA
July ## TBA TBA
August ## TBA TBA
September ## TBA TBA
October ## TBA TBA
November ## TBA TBA
December ## TBA TBA

2017 NHS Officers

President: Jen A White
Vice President: Christopher Visser
Treasurer: Glenn Eisel
Secretary-Recording: Ariel White
Secretary-Education: Monica Macoubrie
Newsletter Editor: Mary Evans

2017 NHS T-shirt Design